Learning how to work in another language

Applicants to the CEMS MIM must meet stringent language competency criteria, as well as reach a pre-set standard in order to successfully graduate from the program. The CEMS MIM is designed for multilingual, multicultural students seeking to build a career abroad where they will interact with people of many different nationalities and from different cultures, so language proficiency occupies a very important place within the curriculum.

CEMS language teaching and testing focusses very heavily upon communication, meaning the ability to work in a foreign language in all senses – oral communication, listening comprehension, writing detailed reports and analyses, giving presentations and interacting spontaneously.

Entry requirements

Candidates must provide one of the following as proof of completing an English certificate upon submission of their application.

  • TOEFL iBT minimum score – 100
  • IELTS Academic minimum score – 7.0
  • CPE minimum grade of C
  • CAE minimum grade of B
  • BEC Higher minimum grade of B
  • Have passed one of the CEMS-accredited local English exams
  • A-level GCSE issued in Singapore
  • University degree taught entirely in English and validated by the CEMS Office

They must also be able to prove the following level for their second and third languages:

  • A CEMS-accredited language: mother tongue or B2 oral + B1 written level
  • Any other language: mother tongue or 5-6 ECTS introductory language course at elementary level

The CEMS languages are: Arabic, Bengali, Cantonese, Czech, Danish, Dutch / Afrikaans, Farsi / Tajik, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi / Urdu, Hungarian, Indonesian / Malay, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Mandarin, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbo-Croat (Bosnian, Croatian, Serbian, and Montenegrin), Spanish, Swedish, Tagalog, Tamil, Thai, Turkish, and Vietnamese.

For the third language requirement a CEMS student is encouraged to step out of their comfort zone.

CEMS uses the Common European Framework of References (CEFR) for comparing proficiency in languages. There are six levels on the CEFR scale, where levels C2 and C1 describe a proficient user, levels B2 and B1 an intermediate user, and levels A2 and A1 a basic user.